Cosy Sewing: Stella

As a bit of a Potterhead, I just had  to grab this lightning bolt sweatshirting from Sewalicious, right? Right. And as I had a pocketless hoodie dress to replace with something more practical, the Stella hoodie from Tilly’s Stretch was the ultimate choice.

stella4This may be the cosiest thing I’ve made to date. I made it in the lovely lull after Christmas and wore it on new year’s day to recover from the night’s festivities. It’s super snuggly.

As usual for Tilly, I made the biggest size (an 8), and I managed to fit the whole thing in to 2 metres of fabric. Originally, it was a little longer than you see here, but I felt it was a little frumpy and chopped a good 5 inches off. I should probably have done 3 inches, but if I feel the need to protect my modesty I could add a cuff back on round the bottom…

stella2I really love some of the details in this make. I made the hood ties from the curling selvedge, and I lined the hood and pocket with some leftover zig zag jersey from another project, which matches perfectly.

The pattern came together really easily – the trickiest bit was getting the edges of the hood to match up at the neckline. But the instructions were really clear and I basted it first, so it went in without any fuss.

stella5My proudest achievement though, if I do say so myself, has to be the pattern matching on the pocket. Not a point out of place!

I twin needled the hem, the pockets, the cuffs and the neckline so I’m a pro now! It gives a really lovely finish. I had to skim a bit off the side seams at the hips at the end, but I could probably have graded that out at when cutting – Tilly’s body model is much hippier than me.

Altogether I really love how this make has turned out. I’m not an athleisure girl usually but there are a lot of fun fabrics out there that could put this pattern to really good use. Next step – zipper hoodie hack!

stella1

 

Leave a comment