The Teal collection: SOI Molly top

I’m buying a lot of teal lately. Or turquoise? Blue green. I like it.

This is the Sew Over it Molly Top from the City Break e-book.  I also picked the cotton jersey up in their sale section earlier this year. It’s really soft and comfy, but unfortunately it’s not currently on their website.

Molly 2

I admit I had a few difficulties putting this top together – not because of the pattern, but rather because I’m still relatively new to my overlocker. A few makes back I caught a pin in the blade, and in the middle of the attaching the Molly’s neckband it finally decided to stop cutting 😦

Molly 7The pattern was really straightforward, just four pattern pieces to cut and put together – and I a little left over from 1.5m of jersey. Despite my neckband issues it came together really quickly.

I think this is the first time I’ve done a such a dramatic dropped shoulder, it made the construction very simple. However I’m not convinced that the cut is ideal for my bust.

Molly 1

As you can see from the pics, I have a lot of extra fabric around the armpits. This is pretty much a standard issue for me at this point, I’m going to start making the size below and adding a full bust adjustment (I must say this after every make).

Molly 9

Molly 3

The hem has a nice curve to it, something I haven’t sewn much with jersey. It was a nice challenge to get an even line on an otherwise simple make.

The sleeves are a great length (I usually find them a little short) and I like how they become relatively slimline past the elbow – super comfy.

 

 

Altogether I’m pleased with this top – I love the colour and the print goths it up a little bit.  I’ll probably make it again, though my queue is currently so big It probably won’t be for a while.

 

Leave a comment